Ewan O'Toole wins Yelverton Junior Academy Championships - The Pennington Trophy!
Adam Frayne's Junior Golf Section

Home   Club   Courses   Competitions   Facilities   Professionals
2020   2021
Junior Academy Championships - 2019

Ewan O'Toole - Junior Champion (Alistair Watt Cup)

Harry Faull - 2nd place

Nathan Keers - 3rd place

George Saxby - 1st place (non-handicaps)

Jake Blundy - 2nd place (non-handicaps)

Jayden Fildew - 3rd place (non-handicaps)

‘Ewan – Junior Champ 2019’

On the sun kissed rolling fairways of Yelverton Golf Club junior players were displaying their skills today in the Yelverton Junior Championships. Playing in two groups, handicap and non-handicap, scoring was competitive but it was Ewan O’Toole who showed his class to clinch the handicap title and lift the Alistair Watt Cup for club champion. Results:

1, Ewan O’Toole (Alistair Watt Cup) – 31pts;

2, Harry Faull – 23pts;

3, Nathan Keers – 16pts.

The non-handicap players competed on a reduced length course but their performance was equally impressive. Competition for first spot was intense but it was George Saxby who managed to return another impressive score and secure the win. Results Non-handicaps:

1, George Saxby – 49pts;

2, Jake Blundy – 41pts;

3, Jayden Fildew – 37pts.

Other awards included the monthly award for August which went to Kai Bostick, to Tia Kowalski who broke the short course record and the ‘Order of Merit’ competition went to Fraser Smithson. Congratulations to all the competitors who made the event and to Adam Frayne who’s coaching is really paying off.

Thanks go to sponsors: Kevin Rowe who gave ball marker kits to each competitor.
Ross Jowett - Director of Sharp Training Ltd who gave prize golf balls. Helpers included Geoffrey Callicott for policing the road crossing, Jane Hulbert, Lady section Vice Captain for acting as an on course martial and score registry.

The Alistair Watt Cup was originally awarded by the junior organiser for the most improved junior for the year. I am proud to announce that we have new sponsors for this competition so this will now be known as the 'Pennington Trophy' which will be awarded in place of the Alistair Watt Cup, this will return to its original purpose.

This is an independant site produced to supplement information for Yelverton junior golf. It does not contain any committee meeting minutes and is for information only.  Copyright (c) 2019 Yelverton Junior Golf Section.